Canada has banned China's Huawei Technologies from its 5G networks. 

Wireless carriers in Canada will not install Huawei equipment in their high-speed 5G networks, after the Canadian government joined allies in banning the giant Chinese technology company.

Canada is the last member of the Five Eyes intelligence-pooling alliance to restrict Huawei technologies in 5G networks, following the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand.

“We are announcing our intention to prohibit the inclusion of Huawei and ZTE products and services in Canada's telecommunications systems,” Industry Minister François-Philippe Champagne said.

Canada's ban also includes the Chinese state-owned ZTE Corp - another of China's biggest tech companies. 

Mr Champagne said “providers who already have this equipment installed will be required to cease its use and remove it”, without compensation. 

China has condemned the move as “political manipulation” aimed at “suppressing” Chinese companies.

“China will comprehensively and seriously evaluate this incident and take all necessary measures to safeguard the legitimate rights and interests of Chinese companies,” the Chinese Embassy in Canada said in a statement.