Australia’s first national marine safety regulator is set to begin operations from July 1 this year, after the Federal Government confirmed the start date for the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA).

The National Regulator will replace 50 pieces of legislation across 7 states and Northern Territory jurisdictions, delivering a single law and consistent approach to national standards for all commercial vessels within Australian waters.

AMSA will work cooperatively with the seven state and Northern Territory maritime regulators to deliver the national system for domestic commercial vessel safety.

The Navigation Act 2012 will also commence on 1 July 2013, replacing the century old Navigation Act 1912.

More information on the AMSA can be found here