The Federal Government has announced the membership of the new Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development.


Announcing the membership, Federal Environment Minister, Tony Burke, said that the strong group of experts would play a crucial role in reviewing CSG and large coal mining proposals and developments and their potential impact on water resources.


Mr Burke said the appointment of the Committee comes at a time of heightened concern surrounding the health and environmental impacts of CSG and coal mining.


"That's why the Gillard Government created the Independent Expert Scientific Committee to provide advice on coal seam gas proposals and large coal mining developments,” Mr Burke said.


Mr Burke said that the Committee’s advice is expected to significantly improve the collective scientific understanding of the water related impacts of CSG and coal mining developments.


"The new members of this expert committee bring a range of scientific skills and expertise in areas such as hydrogeology, hydrology, ecology, geology, ecotoxicology and natural resource management,” Mr Burke said.


The Committee has been established with a $150 million commitment from the Federal Government.


The members are:

  • Ms Lisa Corbyn (Chair)
  • Professor Craig Simmons 
  • Emeritus Professor Angela Arthington
  • Ms Jane Coram 
  • Dr Andrew Johnson
  • Mr Jim McDonald
  • Professor Dayanthi Nugegoda 
  • Emeritus Professor Peter Flood